Indonesia-Malaysia-Thailand Growth Triangle (IMT-GT) idea was initiated by former Prime Minister of Malaysia, H.E. Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohammad. In 1993, the former President of Indonesia, H.E. Suharto, Prime Minister of Thailand, H.E. Chuan Leekpai and H.E. Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohammad was endorsed the formalisation of IMT-GT in Langkawi, Malaysia.

IMT-GT provides a sub-regional framework for accelerating economic cooperation and integration of the member states and provinces in the three countries.

The IMT-GT promotes private-sector led economic growth and facilitates the development of the sub-region as a whole by exploiting the underlying complementarities and comparative advantages of the member countries.

IMT-GT Geographic Scope

To date, IMT-GT has a geographic scope of 32 provinces and states:

10 provinces in the island of Sumatra in Indonesia (Aceh, North Sumatera, West Sumatera, Riau, Jambi, South Sumatera, Bengkulu, Bangka-Belitung, Riau Island, Lampung)

8 states in Peninsular Malaysia; (Perlis, Kedah, Pulau Pinang, Perak, Selangor, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan)

14 provinces in Southern Thailand; (Yala, Pattani, Songkhla, Narathiwat, Satun, Trang, Phattalung, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Chumphon, Ranong, Surat Thani)

The member states and provinces in this subregion form a natural bloc for economic cooperation given their many complementarities; geographical proximity; and close historical, cultural, and linguistic ties.

The extensive land area, a dynamic private sector, abundant supply of labour at competitive price and huge internal market of more than 70 million people plus potential markets in neighbouring sub-regions offer a vast potential for economic development to be enhanced in this area.

More Information